Surrey RCMP officers, auxiliaries, support staff, and volunteers were honoured at the Surrey Board of Trade’s 21st annual Police Officer of the Year Awards Thursday October 5 st for their exemplary service and commitment to making Surrey a safer place to live and do business.


The list of the 2017 winners is as follows:

Police Officer of the Year (nominated by the community) –  Sergeant Winston Shorey

Police Officer of the Year (nominated by peers– Sergeant Heather Matthew

Auxiliary Constable of the Year – Constable Karen Summers 

Municipal Employee of the Year – Amanda Schenk 

Volunteer of the Year – James Ram 

Arnold Silzer Community Policing Initiative Award  Surrey Outreach Team 

Police Team Award- Surrey RCMP Youth Unit 

Stephen Boyd, Surrey Schools- Police and Business Partnership Award 


© A Master Media